Show/Hide

Image result for warning sign

WSPS REMOTE LEARNING PLAN - THIS LINK 

Coronavirus (COVID-19) Website - THIS LINK

West Springfield Public Schools CLOSED UNTIL MAY 4

2020-2021 New Student Registration Portal Open - HERE

 

Welcome to

Memorial School!

CUTE BEE

201 Norman St
West Springfield, MA 01089
413-263-3333
Twitter - WSPSMemorial

Mrs. Donna Calabrese, M.Ed., CAGS, Principal

 

PLEASE check your Bloomz app and emails from teachers each day. Everyone is excited to connect with their students and families virtually.  If you haven’t provided an email to your child’s teacher, you may email them using the directory below. 

Grade 1 

Mrs. Hewes - hewes@wsps.org

Mrs. Johnson - emily.johnson@wsps.org

Mrs. Mitchell - mitchell@wsps.org

Special Education-Mrs. Doyle - ldoyle@wsps.org

Grade 2 

Mrs. Duquette - duquette@wsps.org

Mrs. Flaherty - flaherty@wsps.org

Special Education-Mrs. Doyle - ldoyle@wsps.org

Grade 3 

Mrs. Johnson, - mjohnson@wsps.org

Mrs. Glaessner - glaessner@wsps.org

Special Education-Mrs. Doyle, - ldoyle@wsps.org

Grade 4 

Mrs. Weldon - weldon@wsps.org

Ms. Patterson - npatterson@wsps.org

Special Education - Mrs. Meara - smeara@wsps.org

Grade 5 

Ms. Heroux - heroux@wsps.org

Mr. Overgaard - overgaard@wsps.org

Special Education - Mrs. Meara - smeara@wsps.org

SEBS Classroom

Mrs. Sutter - csutter@wsps.org

Principal, Mrs. Calabrese, calabrese@wsps.org

Counselor, Mr. Ragno - ragno@wsps.org

Nurse, Mrs. Motyka - motyka@wsps.org

Secretary, Mrs. Tolpa - tolpa@wsps.org

Speech Pathologist, Mrs. Martin - amartin@wsps.org

Math Specialist, Mrs. Metallo - metallo@wsps.org

Reading Specialists, 

Mrs. Kearing - kearing@wsps.org and 

Mrs. Kolodziej - tkolodziej@wsps.org 

Computer Specialist - Mr. Preye, preye@wsps.org

Librarian - Mrs. Sady - ksady@wsps.org

PE Specialist, Ms. Sirignano - sirignano@wsps.org

Art Specialist, Ms. Thahir - thahir@wsps.org

Music Specialist, Ms. Sapowsky - sapowsky@wsps.org

Kitchen Manager, Mrs. Lomma - cafememorial@wsps.org

Paraprofessionals: Mrs. Corduff, Ms. Guhne, Mr. Hegarty, 

Mrs. King, Mrs. Mosiychuk, Mrs. Pinkerman, Ms. Sheridan, 

Ms. Yordt & Mrs. Sady, Librarian

**********THERE WILL BE NO SCHOOL FOR CHILDREN THROUGH MAY 4 2020.  PLEASE LOOK FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION IN THE TOP YELLOW BAR OF THE WSPS.ORG SITE, THE WEST SPRINGFIELD PUBLIC SCHOOLS APP, THROUGH PHONE CALLS, AND ON THIS WEBSITE. **********

Hello Memorial families,  I have been thinking about you and hoping you're all are feeling well and adjusting to our new routine. Please take a few moments to visit wsps.org and our Memorial School website for updates and helpful information. I would also like to mention that  Mr. Ragno, our School Adjustment Counselor would like you to know that even while school is not in operation, counseling services and support are available to all families. The district’s counseling staff has been working to put together activities and resources for families during this time of need, which can be found on the wsps.org website. These will be updated regularly with new information and resources. However, if your general needs are not met through these, you can certainly reach out to Mr. Ragno during our normal school hours at   ragno@wsps.org . Additionally, children should spend a little time each day to complete the enrichment and skill review materials in folders and online (if applicable). I recommend that your children also spend time each day reading and practicing math facts. Combined with the activities in the folders, they will be well prepared to continue with their studies when we return.  Please know that the folders do not affect their grades and there will not be a penalty if work is not complete or correct-it is for skill review and enrichment only.   Stay well, enjoy your time together and we will see you soon!

Websites To Keep Learning Alive While School Is Closed through April 6th.

https://classroommagazines.scholastic.com/support/learnathome.html 

https://kidsactivitiesblog.com/

https://danbury.macaronikid.com/articles/5e6bdabe3d11987dd859e93b/school-canceled-36-free-educational-resources-kids-can-use-at-home

https://pbskids.org/

https://www.familyeducation.com/life/internet-safety/6-safe-search-engines-kids

https://www.abcmouse.com/abt/homepage?8a08850bc2=T2706189042.1584364686.9247

https://www.getepic.com/

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=30DCOgTGn_o

https://sn3.scholastic.com/pages/archives/video-archive.html?page=1

https://mysterydoug.com/

https://mathfactspro.com/

https://clever.com/schools

https://www.raz-kids.com/

https://educators.brainpop.com/2020/02/19/free-brainpop-access-for-schools-affected-by-the-corona-virus/?utm_source=organic&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=coronavirus&utm_content=free-access

Consider calling Comcast or Spectrum to ask if they are offering anything to families free of charge - they may be!

**NO AFTER SCHOOL PROGRAM UNTIL APRIL - DATE TO BE DETERMINED**

  • ARRIVAL AND DISMISSAL INFORMATION 

  * Please drop students off only on the 201 Norman Street side of the school - there is no drop off on Baldwin St. *

8:05 - 8:15 - Students begin arriving at school

8:15 - First bell rings and students begin morning 
           
work in classrooms

8:05-8:20 - Breakfast is served daily

2:45 - Dismissal begins

                   (walkers, parent pick-ups, buses and vans) bee row

 MCAS TESTING Dates For Grades 3, 4 and 5

 English Language Arts test sessions

Monday, March 30, 2020 -Friday, May 1, 2020

 Mathematics test sessions

Monday, April 27, 2020 - Friday, May 22, 2020

 Science/Technology/Engineering (Gr. 5)

Thursday, April 28, 2020 – Friday, May 22, 2020

 bee row

LUNCH SCHEDULE

11:45-12:15 - Grade 5
12:00-12:30 - Grades 2 & 4
12:30-1:00 - Grades 1 & 3

PTO / SCHOOL COUNCIL MEETINGS 
Occur on the first Wednesday of each month at 3:30 in the library - EVERYONE is welcome to attend on 9/4/19, 10/2/19, 11/6/19, 12/4/19, 1/8/20, 2/5/20, 3/4/20, 4/1/20, 5/6/20, 6/3/20

DISTRICT CALENDAR & MARKING TERM DATES 

18-19 School Calendar

2019-2020 Marking Terms

 

 

News